Review of the 1934 Football Season (9-0-0)

Review of the 1934 Football Season (9-0-0)
(Source: 1935 CHS Stentor)

Our High School's powerful gridiron eleven opened the season with a thrilling 12-0 victory over Shenandoah High. The two touchdowns came as the result of forward passes thrown by Jim Ferry.

The next game proved to be a gridiron picnic at the expense of Catasauqua. Our team rolled up 46 points while holding the visitors scoreless.

In the first night game that Coaldale High ever played, our team proved its ability by trouncing Tamaqua 39-6. Coaldale outplayed the “Blue Raiders” completely. Donahue of Tamaqua scored their lone touchdown.

Our team had a narrow escape when it eked out a 6-0 victory over Freeland High School. The touchdown was scored by Joseph “Moose” Lutchkus, who took a forward pass from Jim Ferry and raced 20 yards to the goal line.

Our next victory came at the expense of McAdoo. This game was played under the flood-lights at Tamaqua High’s stadium. Coaldale met with some powerful opposition, but managed to come home with a 19-0 victory.

The high spot of the season was our 6-0 victory over St. Thomas College Freshmen. Barron scored the touchdown after Ferry had completed a forward pass to Dirnberger on the one yard line.

We then went to Summit Hill and brought back another victory. This time the score was 27-6. In this game our worthy substitutes played almost the entire game.

The next team that faced defeat at the hands of our valiant football team was Nesquehoning High School. A 19-0 score in our favor gave us hope of an undefeated football team as we approached the last game.

As a thrilling climax to a very successful season, our boys went out in a field of mud and beat our arch-rivals from Lansford by a 7-0 score. A forward pass from Ferry to Lutchkus brought us victory and an undefeated, untied eleven for the third time in the history of Coaldale High School football.

Next year our team will feel the loss of Edward Sicenavage, Michael Povalac, George Barron, James Ferry, Albert Yesulaitis, Daniel Starry, John Flyzik, Paul Dirnberger, Benjamin Williams, Joseph Lutchkus, John Polischak, William Miller and John Lankalis, who graduate in June. However, with splendid material coming along we hope for another good team next year.