Carbon Hall holds induction banquet


The Carbon County Area Chapter of the Pennsylvania Sports Hall of Fame held its 11th annual induction banquet this past Sunday as 23 more members were enshrined into the organization.

Over 300 people were in attendance at the affair held at Jim Thorpe Memorial Park. Among those who attended this year's affair included past inductees George Bibighaus, Mike Holovak, Jake Boyer, Jim Wentz, Betty Brey, Richard "Dick" Jones, Mike Ebbert, Rollie Alger, Angie Knostas, Lou Higgins, Phil Rader, Ed Watto, Rudy Bednar, John Harkins, Charlie Williams, Milton "Blackie" Suchon, George Barron and Ed "Guv" Kennedy.

This year's inductees included what became the first husband-wife duo to be enshrined when Paul Brey joined his wife Betty as Lehighton inductees. Other Lehighton inductees included Robert "Brooks" Whiteman and Bill Christman. Bibighaus, accepted for the latter who is deceased.

Coaldale's inductees were Gene Ambrose Ambruich and Charles "Dutchie" Hontz, who both attended Coaldale High back in thw 1940's.

Jim Thorpe's newest members were the late Jack Demick, who was represented by his nephew Jim Billig; Jim Steidle and Terry Watto.

From Lansford, the late Pete Holovak was represented by his brother Mike, who is now retired and is residing in Florida; Alfred Baldwin and George Lorah.

The Feddock twins, Mike and the late Bill were among the Nesquehoning inductees along with 1948 graduate George Macinko.

Palmerton had the honor of having two female inductees in Donna Horn Serfass and the late Emma Schlegel Webb. This gives the town the four of the seven women members of the local chapter. Joe Carazo, who was vacationing in Hawaii, was also inducted and was represented by long time college friend Matt Gencarelli of Bethlehem.

Summit Hill inducted 1930 graduate Vernon Hontz, 1949 graduate Walter O'Gurek and former Lehigh University football coach John Whitehead.

Tamaqua honored former Marian High principal Jack Malarkey, Paul Miller and Ed Savitsky.

Dan McGinley, president of the chapter, announced plans for a big celebration in 2,004 to honor the late Jim Thorpe and also plans to establish a local museum to house all of the plaques and memorabilia from past inductees.